News Release

September 26, 2011

OHCA Contacts: Jo Kilgore - (405) 522-7474, Carter Kimble - (405) 522-7510

OHCA Names Award Recipient

OKLAHOMA CITY – The Oklahoma Health Care Authority recently named Dr. Doug Cox the recipient of the 2011 Dr. T.J. Brickner, Jr. Defender of Health Care Award. In the selection, the agency pointed to Dr. Cox’s outstanding work in the legislature where members of both parties look to him for counsel and leadership on a wide variety of health care issues.

As Chairman of the House Committee on Public Health, Dr. Cox has authored significant legislation that has helped improve the standard of care for the state’s most vulnerable citizens including children and the aged population. Legislation he has authored includes the Oklahoma Medicaid Reform Act of 2006 (HB 2842 – 2006), the All Kids Act (SB 424 – 2007), the Oklahoma Health Information Exchange Act (SB 1420 – 2008), the OK Medicaid False Claims Act (SB889 – 2007) and most recently the SHOPP (HB 1381 – 2011).

“Dr. Cox continues to work at Grove General Hospital, even during the Legislative Session, often working nights and weekends.  He juggles the demanding schedule out of his love for medicine and his passion for helping others, and says his time in the emergency room helps him to keep in touch with the needs of the people of his district,” said OHCA Board Chairman Lyle Roggow in presenting the award.

The American College of Emergency Physicians recently named him a Hero of Emergency Medicine, and stated “Dr. Cox embodies the idea of any everyday hero.  He profoundly touches people’s lives in his clinical practice and in the state lawmaker arena of public policy.  He is a consistent and caring voice for patients and their care.”

Long recognized as an outstanding leader in his community and in the state, Dr. Cox has worked tirelessly to improve the quality of health care for all Oklahomans.

Dr. Cox is board certified in both Family and Emergency Medicine.  During his 30 year medical career, he has maintained a family practice and has served as Chief of Staff for Integris Grove General Hospital and the Medical Director of Grove Emergency Medical Services.  He is a member of numerous medical organizations and has been honored with the Oklahoma Hospital Association’s Outstanding Achievement Award, honored as Delaware County’s Humanitarian of the Year and is a past recipient of the Oklahoma Family Physician of the Year Award.

Prior to joining the Legislature, Dr. Cox served as the President of the Grove School Board and sat on the Board of Directors of the Oklahoma State University Alumni Association.  He has also served the law enforcement community as a deputy medical examiner.

In 2005, the Oklahoma Health Care Authority presented the first Dr. T.J. Brickner, Jr., Defender of Health Care Award to its namesake, a founding member of the OHCA Board.  The award was created by the agency to recognize some of the best examples of dedication and personal commitment to the low income, uninsured and underinsured residents of Oklahoma.  The recognition celebrates the achievements of a non-state employed individual, who works tirelessly in the service of other people, either in health care or a related field.

Past recipients of the award include Anne Roberts, former Executive Director of the Oklahoma Institute for Child Advocacy, former OHCA Board Member and current member of the Commission for Human Services; Calvin Anthony, pharmacist, businessman, former legislator and member of the OSU Board of Regents; and Mike Dover, President & CEO of Variety Care Foundation.